Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

01.01.06 - 7:24 a.m.

2006 Baby!

Happy 2006 babies! So far so good. I'm showered in spain with only a slight hangover and no clean panties. Last night was a lot more fun than I thought it would be. We went out early in the evening for a few beers with Gonzaldo's childhood friends. There was a lot of talk about real estate which was boring, but there was some entertainment with folks teaching me how to use 'vosotros'.

Then we came back to his house for a family meal. Really yummy seafood, gambas, lox, fish soup... although I thought that the appetizers where the main meal and so ate WAY too much. Like feeling sick too much. His kind of uptight, jealousish mom didn't get mad when I broke a glass. 12 seconds before midnight we had to eat a grape for each second that passed. It was fun but the grapes had seeds and his mom made me laugh so I spewed out all the grapes all over my plate. Charming.

We went back out again, dodging firecrackers and managed to get enough going with his friends to dance and drink until 6am. The Spanish folk are not terribly hot looking up here in the North. Kind of uptight... people afraid to wear hats and carry umbrellas because other people don't (!) Like super hyper aware of what everyone else thinks. I liked being the foreigner because I could be kooky and outrageous and it was acceptable. All of his friends have known eachother since they were kids and they've been novios for five and six and thirteen years and I think they liked having someone a little different around for the holiday.

Gonzaldo was also super nice to me and told me that I always bring the party and bring the fun out of people. I like to think of myself that way. That I can bring people together and bring good energy to a group. People have told me that before and I like to think if I have few talents at least that's one of them. I may have bad skin and a spare tire but I am a social lubricator. Right on.

My professor wrote me an email and told me I was beautiful. uh-oh. What will 2006 bring? We shall see! I hope it's full of friends and dancing and a real job and maybe real love and Africa and bike riding and a tan and tropical fruit.

Happy New Year to you!
Paleta de Novo

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!