Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

01.08.05 - 8:45 p.m.

Music and Sledding

I wonder if anyone actually reads this? In some ways it doesn't matter. Just the idea that someone would..'s nice enough.

I'm in Omahahahaha. It isn't a place I would choose to live. Too many strip malls, no public transportation. It is very wholesome, which is a good thing. Today I went sledding which I honestly can't remember the last time I've done. It was TERRIFIC!!! So much fun flying down a hill completely out of control nearly killing multitudes of children with aforementioned lack of control. It did remind me of when I tried surfing in Mexico and ran over some kid with my board because I couldn't stop or turn. Sledding made me feel giddy and laugh a lot.

Right now I'm full of good vegetarian food and thinking about movies and soundtracks and how important soundtracks are- and how when I wear a walkman I like to think of myself as having my own personal soundtrack and I picture myself walking with the music I'm listening to and credits rolling over my face.

I also have this hang up about music that I need to get over. I just need to buy what I like and never, ever be concerned about whether it is too popular or too commercial. Some things you should worry about when it comes to that- just say no to corporate chains that treat workers badly and displace local business and kill ecology (natural or cultural)- like certain horrific coffee chains for example. But music? It's okay to buy music that zillions of other people like. If it makes you feel good than it IS good. I get hung up sometimes.

I like music that makes me feel moody and pensive and fills a room. I like music that makes me want to dance around. They are two very different types of musical feelings. I know that it will be hard to get along with someone who listens to a song I really, really like and then says (unsolicited) "I can't stand this song." When I was in college I listened to the song 'Cecilia' by Simon and Garfunkel 13 times in a row. And my hall advisor/drug dealer said "I was wondering how many times you were going to listen to it. I loved it each time you played it." Therefore she was great.

Bonding over music, books, movies is such a very cultural thing. When people in the U.S. tell me what they like I get such a picture/judgement of them, that's one of the freeeing things about travel. In another land the same things don't carry the same cultural currency so you have to rely on other things. I've always been impressed by my Mexican friends tolerance of (what I think is) really horrible pop music and really terrific traditional music all at the same time.

Y ja. Sled when you can. It's worth it.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!