Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

07.02.06 - 11:55 a.m.

In Better Spirits

I sent out a sad email and got lots of words of inspiration back. And from diaryland folks too. Gracias. When you ask, you will get it... mostly. Maybe I should say, when you ask out loud you shall receive. Not so much good mindreading going on.

Got to hang out with old friends this weekend. They have babies. They seemed old with their friends but then I got to know their friends (instead of writing them off as old yuppies, which I was doing in my head) and they were okay. The drinking helped. It always does.

Also helps that I had my period and now have a Better Attitude. And that yesterday I went to that weird citizenship rally where there were more volunteers than applicants. I kind of helped out but the best part was riding over there, it's in the far southwest of the Big City an ENTIRELY latin neighborhood and felt like I was back in Mexico for a hot second. Sweltering heat, piropos from the drivers, pollution, eating a mango with chili, cute little kids playing in the fountain, spent the day speaking spanish and ogling the 20 year old latin boys playing basketball and selling weed. Also was able to get tacos at 2:30am this morning. See, Big City ain't so bad after all!

I broke down and had to tell the internship interview lady my gender so that she could find me in the cafe for the interview. I was gonna try and milk it for a while.

I am always surprised at how self aware people are. I guess I measure them against myself. This one woman started talking about white privelige last night and I was really surprised because she seemed kind of, well, yuppified and I didn't give her enough credit. I love when people surprise me like that, although I do have to scold myself when that happens too...

I want to sleep some more. It's raining and Brasil lost yesterday. Now we're back to the stupid European cup. Who cares? I'll root for Italy. They are the prettiest.

Ciao!
Gellatta

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!