Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

02.21.05 - 6:21 p.m.

Back En El Frijol!

Andale! Here I am back in El Frijol! It�s hot and sunny and I feel like I�m in another world. Spent the last night in my Big City, U.S.A. doing, what else, drinking at The Bar I Always Go To after stressing about moving out of my apt. Had a great time, some 23 year old wanted my phone #, the Venezuealan guy came by with a damaged foot just to say �hi�, got a great afterhours massage and in general had a great time. Of course now it seems a thousand light years away.

El Frijol is so different in the dry season. So many more tourists, it�s amazing! I don�t like that part, I feel territorial. I don�t want the locals to think I�m just another tourist, I like to think I blend it. Hah. And so many more guys! In the rainy season I guess all the guys go to the U.S. to work and make $ and now that it�s the cold season in the U.S. and near paradise here, they have returned.

Now Everyday is a Wednesday. Only without the drinking and the music. Just the ogling latin boys part. Sigh.

But really I�m getting ready for the interns to get here. Today I went off with and honest to god cowboy who works with my organization to set up schools and families for the interns. It�s so easy! Basically we walk into a school, ask if they want two volunteers to teach English for a few months and can they find a family for them to stay with? Y Ya. That�s it, they usually say �yes�and so be it. Truth be told running a volunteer operation is EZ. Never pay a zillion dollars to go on a program like this. Just go to the country and Do It Yourself. You DO have the balls to do it!

More as the trip unfolds. It�s good to be back. I feel at home but also really lonely. This is a place that calls out for romance, for a pardner and the 18 year olds on my program will NOT cut the mustard.

Buenas Noches!
Paleta La Reina de El Frijol

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!