Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

02.07.05 - 3:26 p.m.

Gringa Pura y Su Fin De Semana

It was a tremendous weekend. Friday I was so very healthy and productive. I went to the gym and got my ass kicked, then babysat cute girl who coughed all over me, then went to capoeira and continued ass kicking. A beer and forty bazillion french fries rounded out the evening.

Saturday was also wonnaful. We had a show at the Natural History museum and I did pretty well. Didn't freak out when we had to do our machete dance. Then enjoyed the sunshine with a spontaneous falafel (extra, extra spicey) with Mrs. Brazil (also somewhat spicey herself...) then off to do a show at the MultiCulti Cool Club. We were one of four opening acts (one act were these excellent salsa dancers and I'm sure the boys were all a bunch of bald ballers) for a TERRIFIC band called Los Amigos Invisibles. I felt stupid because I met them in the dressing room and berated them nicely in bad spanish about how low their energy was.. they must have been saving it because they SO brought it to the stage! I danced so much that my feet were swollen the next day.

And I didn't drink!!! I had only one beer and so I was actually okay the next morning even though I went to bed at 3am. Ah-hah! Yummy, yummy brunch in the am. Rediscovered how I am the offspring of the progressive, political, humanitarian not terribly religous jew community, did some yoga, moved some boxes in preparation of moving out of my apt. to head back to El Frijol and then went on a classic bad date from hell.

This is the guy I met at the art opening. Honestly, I don't have the energy to go into the whole story but briefly: he got wildly offended when,during a conversation about race, I asked what his ethnic background was. He's Asian of some kind and basically bit my head off for asking. I understand how that can be sensitive, but come the fuck on. It's obvious I'm white when I speak English so no one asks. When I speak Spanish people ask me "What are you?" and I answer! Is it so awful? Is your heritage a secret? Is he just way ashamed? Or just completely presupposing that I'm racist and if that's the case he's a Supreme Asshole. Whatever. In any case we got into an actual argument and eventually I left.

I could go on and on.. race is a big interesting topic for me- growing up in a very racially divided city- it's formed my perspective. But the whole assuming that he knew what I was about was so assy. And then there was the stupid conversation about what movies, music you like that are supposed to be these cultural cues that tell so much about you. I'm so done with trying to be "cool". I'm me. Take it or leave it. 100% honesty and not tripping on what you think the other person is thinking. I'm still angry.

In any case moving is making me horribly tired. As is the dreary, rainy day. I've already had two spinach pies today and I want another. The ultimate comfort food.

Entonces, ciao..
Paleta de Espinaca

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!