Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

12.27.04 - 6:16 p.m.

Excercize and Karaoke

I just got back from the gym and my knee is really frustrating me. I am having general excercize problems these days. In a nutshell, I started capoeira (an African Brazilian martial art that combines dance, acrobatics and normal martial arts stuff) when I moved to Chicago in '97. I was so very into it for a while, true capoeirista and all. Years pass, I play, I realize I just do not have the talent/dedication to ever really commit to the berimbau (the all important musical instrument that is just as important as knowing how to kick ass) and slowly but surely- despite going to train in Brazil and putting all of my energy into shows, the capoeira community, etc. etc- I kind of fall out of it. It's recent really, the falling out part. It partly has to do with some MAJOR dissappointments I had with my teacher (although a magnificent woman in so many ways she continues to be one of the least effective teachers I've ever met) and leaving the country (although that hasn't stopped me before). It's weird to be in this city and not be enmeshed in it. 80% of my friends are from capoeira so I'm in touch that way, but I haven't been training...

And so we come to the gym and the knee. So, in El Frijol although I hike like a madwoman and even climbed the country's tallest mountain (12,000 feet, yo!) I gained a bunch of weight. It has to do with bread and lard, I think. And although I can choke a grown man with my thighs (grrrr), it would be lovely not to have a belly roll over those low rise jeans o' mine. Soooo, broke as can be I scammed the local Bally's. They have a 30 day trial where you can check out the gym as long as you visit more than 12 times. Yeah boyee. And I get time with a personal trainer.

So I've been going to fake yoga (not terribly spiritual) and using machines but my knee is bothering me more and more. My dad has tendonitits and he thinks this is what ails me. What sucks is anything aerobic I do hurts. Sigh, sigh, sigh. And I try and eat better (I'm a vegatarian who moonlights with fish) but am so very addicted to carbs and sugar. Sigh.

Okay, so one good thing that happened at the gym as my knee throbbed and pulsed... I was in this abs class (and why is it that women take more classes than men?) and the song Finally by Cece Penniston came on (this will date me, for sure). I haven't heard that song in yeaarrrss and I realized how fantabulous it was and how appropriate it would be for Karaoke.

You have to realize that I have only done Karaoke a few times and each time I've sung a Kool and the Gang song and each time I worked the hell out of the song and even managed to do some floor work.

One last thought.... there are lots of Bally's in my city and each one has it's own personality depending on it's location. As you will later learn if you read my diary enough, I have a weakness for the latin boys (although that is a long and complicated story which eventually will be told) and one gym is full of them. Although with the good you also get the weird. There are lots of random Eastern Europeans and mullets there too. The other locations include one in baseball hat boy/ex sorority girl land, a gay neighborhood and a black neighborhood. So far the gay 'hood had the most diverse yoga class. The teacher was a drag queen which meant that he had an amazing ass and very elegant poses.

And that's enough for today.
Paleta

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!